Ward Four FPD Minutes, December 2022

A regular meeting of the Ward Four Fire Protection District of Jackson Parish was called to order at 7:00 p.m., on December 19, 2022, at the fire district's Central Station, located at 261 Hwy 505, Jonesboro, LA. This meeting was called to order by Scotty Nunn, fire district board president.

Fire district board members in attendance included Scotty Nunn, Frankie Harris, and Glen Watkins. Others in attendance included Josh Halbrook, Amanda Ledford, Darrell Avery, and Heather Holland. Some volunteers were in attendance as well.

Scotty Nunn presented the opening prayer.

After reviewing the minutes of the November 2022 fire district board meeting, Glen Watkins offered a motion to accept them as presented. Frankie Harris seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

The fire board next reviewed the December 2022 financials for payment. Glen Watkins made a motion to accept the reports as provided. Frankie Harris provided the second, and the motion carried.

The board then moved on to old business with the first item being Mr. Nunn's two year term expiring. Glen Watkins made a motion to have Mr. Nunn serve on the board for another two year term. Frankie Harris seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

Next, the board was made aware of the issues with the ice machine at central station. Chief Halbrook had been attempting to get quotes on repairs versus replacement of the unit. He had received no quotes at this time. The discussion was tabled until next meeting.

The board then moved on to new business. The board reviewed the 2023 budget. Glen Watkins made a motion to adopt the 2023 budget as presented. Frankie Harris seconded the motion, and the motion passed.

Next, Chief Halbrook made the board aware of his intent to remove a few inactive volunteers from the roster. The volunteers would be given a set amount of time in which to return the gear they had been given.

The board members were pleased with how the department was running and thought the year had been a successful one.

No comments from the assistant chief.

The chief expressed his appreciation for all personnel as well as the board members.

Frankie Harris made a motion to adjourn. Glen Watkins seconded the motion, and the motion passed.