Ward Four FPD Minutes, October 30, 2017

A regular meeting of the Ward Four Fire Protection District of Jackson Parish was called to order at 7:00 p.m., on October 30, 2017, at the fire district's Central Station, located at 261 Hwy 505, Jonesboro, LA . This meeting was called to order by Kent Hightower, fire district board president.

Fire district board members in attendance included Richard Barlow, Kent Hightower, Arthur Harper, and Cliff Rogers. Others in attendance included Scott Savage, Heather Holland, Billy Wayne Pullig, Daniel Allen, and Rel Mathews.

Richard Barlow presented the opening prayer.

Kent Hightower began with amendments to the agenda. Mr. Hightower wished to revise number 5 on the agenda to read "Resignation of Board Member and Reappointment of New Member". Mr. Barlow made a motion to accept this amendment. The motion passed with a vote of all yeas and no nays. There were no public comments concerning the amendment.

There were no public comments concerning the agenda.

After reviewing the minutes of the September 2017 fire district board meeting, Cliff Rogers offered a motion to accept them as presented. Richard Barlow seconded the motion, and the motion carried.

The fire board next reviewed the November 2017 financials for payment. Richard Barlow made a motion to accept the report as provided. Cliff Rogers provided the second, and the motion carried.

The board was then given an update on the memorial project. Kent Hightower provided the board with blue prints of the memorial. Cliff Rogers offered a motion approving the blueprints of the memorial. Richard Barlow seconded the motion and the motion carried.

The board then discussed the 2017 parcel fee collection. More payments had come in since the last board meeting, and the list of unpaid parcels were diminishing. The board discussed finding a new and improved way of checking the parcel fee roll.

The 2018 proposed budget would be available at the November meeting for approval.

The board then moved on to new business. The first item was to consider was the engagement for David Hartt for auditor for the 2017 tax year. Some discussion was had amongst the board members. Richard Barlow offered a motion to engage Mr. Hartt. Cliff Rogers seconded the motion and the motion carried.

Next the board reviewed the commissioners' term as board members. The board agreed that what was presented was an accurate accounting of the terms. This list would be provided to the Police Jury for their records.

Next item of business concerned the 2017 Tax Millage Totals. The board reviewed the documents.

The board then reviewed and accepted the resignation of Mr. Doyce McGuffie. Cliff Rogers offered the motion, and Richard Barlow offered a second. The motion passed. Discussion was then had concerning appointment of an individual to replace Mr. McGuffie. Richard Barlow nominated Mr. Billy Wayne Pullig to be considered by the Jackson Parish Police Jury as a candidate for board member. Arthur Harper seconded the motion and the motion carried.

The next item of business concerned the secretary salary. Kent Hightower thought it best to change Mrs. Holland's pay from hourly to a monthly salary to better ensure that Mrs. Holland was paid for her work. The board discussed the issue. Arthur Harper offered a motion to pay Mrs. Heather Holland a monthly amount of \$750 plus a \$15/hour rate for any parcel fee work completed beginning November 2017. Cliff Rogers offered a second and the motion carried.

Next the board reviewed the run reports for the month.

The board members were then given an opportunity to give any comments. Arthur Harper thanked Chief Savage taking the time to give him a tour of the district and an overview of the inner workings of the fire district.

Asst. Chief Allen then thanked the board for their time and approval of the Halloween function. He hoped to see them there.

Next were comments by the fire chief. Chief Savage informed the board of the safety supper that the volunteers would be having in December. He also informed the board that the district now had six new emergency responders, as they had just completed their course.

Richard Barlow made a motion to adjourn. Cliff Rogers seconded the motion, and the motion carried.