The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in special session Monday, December 18, 2017, at 5:15 PM in the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. . Members present: Todd Culpepper, Eddie Langston, John McCarty, Regina Rowe and Lynn Treadway. Absent: Amy Magee and Maxie Monroe. Also present: Darrell Avery, Assistant District Attorney

The meeting was called to order by the President, Mr. Langston. The invocation was given by Mr. Treadway and Mr. McCarty let the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Mr. Culpepper to amend the agenda to include approving the 2017 amended budget and proposed 2018 budget for the North Louisiana Criminalistics Laboratory Commission and authorize the President to sign related documents. Motion carried unanimously.

There were no public comments.

Motion Mr. Culpepper, seconded Mr. Treadway to accept the sealed bids for the following surplus property:

2000 Chevrolet Blazer, VIN 7939 \$577.00 – James Durham/Lynn's Enterprises

Portable Stage System
\$377.00 - James Durham/Lynn's Enterprises

Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Treadway to accept the low bid of \$90,606 from The Mabry Company for the Library Parking Lot project. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Mr. Culpepper to approve the 4th quarter billing from the Second Judicial District Attorney. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Culpepper to appoint Armed Rel Mathews to the Ward 4 Fire District at the end of Richard Barlow's term on December 31, 2017. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Ms. Rowe to accept the resignation of Cliff Rogers from the Ward 4 Fire District. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Treadway to appoint Scotty Nunn to the Ward 4 Fire District to fill the vacancy from Cliff Rogers. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper, seconded Mr. McCarty to approve the request of the private road name change from Opal Kees Road to Crazy D. Ranch Road. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Ms. Rowe to authorize the President to sign a Corporate Endeavor Agreement with the Jackson Parish Fire Districts for surplus radios. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. McCarty, seconded Mr. Culpepper to authorize Secretary-Treasurer to open a secure PayPal account. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Treadway, seconded Mr. McCarty to approve purchase of shelving for Clerk of Court. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Culpepper to approve the following purchase orders:

<u>Vendor</u> :	Amount:	Dept/Fund:	<u>Item</u> :	
Office Depot	\$2,099.95	General	Shelving for Clerk of Court records	
Winn Rock	\$17,500	Road	1,000 T Winn Rock	
Mechanical Systems & Service	\$4,301.00	General	Parts and repairs to air handler unit	
Ruston Tractor	\$60,673.85	Road	KB2200 boom joystick/60" cut/mount	
Kubota Tractor Corp.	\$67,870.80	Road	M6-III DTC-F Tractor	
Coburn's	\$10,987.20	Road	15"x20' culverts/24"x20' culverts	
Mabry Company	\$3,750.00	Road	150 tons reclaimed asphalt	
Rivercity Hydraulic	\$600.00	Solid Waste	Joystick for compact truck	
DSC Security	\$450.00	General	Wireless power G panic button (3)	
Mechanical Systems	\$715.00	General	Continued repair to air handler	
Secretary of State	\$2,836.08	General	Election expense	
Motion carried.				

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Treadway to approve the 2017 amended budget and proposed 2018 budget for the North Louisiana Criminalistics Laboratory Commission and authorize the President to sign related documents. Motion carried.

The President announced that there would be an election for 2018 officers. The floor was opened for nominations for President.

Mr. Culpepper nominated Mr. McCarty for president. Mr. Treadway nominated Ms. Rowe for president. There were no other nominations.

## A roll call vote was taken:

<u>MEMBERS</u>	Mr. McCarty	Ms. Rowe	<u>ABSENT</u>	<b>ABSTAINING</b>
Todd Culpepper	_X			
Eddie Langston		Χ		
Amy Magee			Χ	
John McCarty	Χ			
Maxie Monroe			Χ	
Regina Rowe		Х		_
Lynn Treadway		X		

There being a majority of the vote in favor of her election, Ms. Rowe was declared President for the year 2018.

Mr. Langston opened the floor for the nomination of Vice President.

Mr. Langston nominated Mr. McCarty. There were no other nominations and Mr. McCarty was named Vice President by acclamation.

Motion Ms. Rowe, seconded Mr. Langston to adjourn. Motion carried.