August 16, 2017 Jonesboro, Louisiana www.jacksonparishpolicejury.org

The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in special session Wednesday, August 16, 2017, at 5:15 PM in the Police Jury Meeting Room, 500 East Court Street, Room 301, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Todd Culpepper, Eddie Langston, John McCarty, and Regina Rowe. Absent: Amy Magee, Maxie Monroe, and Lynn Treadway. Also present: Darrell Avery, Assistant District Attorney.

The meeting was called to order by the president, Mr. Langston. Mr. Langston gave the invocation and Mr. Culpepper led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no public comments.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Rowe to enter Executive Session to discuss the pending litigation of Herbert Simmons, et al vs. State of Louisiana. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Rowe to return to open session with no action being taken. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Rowe to obtain legal counsel from Gold Weems to represent the Jackson Parish Police Jury in the pending litigation of Herbert Simmons, et al vs. State of Louisiana. Motion carried with Mr. McCarty abstaining.

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded Mr. Culpepper to loan the Federal Homeland Security Fund up to \$25,000.00 from the General Fund for 2016 SHSP grant. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Rowe to adjourn. Motion carried.