The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in special session Monday, August 7, 2017, at 5:30 PM in the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Eddie Langston, John McCarty, Maxie Monroe and Lynn Treadway. Absent: Todd Culpepper, Amy Magee and Regina Rowe.

The meeting was called to order by the president, Mr. Langston. Ms. Monroe gave the invocation and Mr. Treadway led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no public comments.

Motion Mr. Treadway seconded Ms. Monroe to adopt tax millage rates for 2017

BE IT RESOLVED, that the following millage(s) are hereby levied on the 2017 tax roll on all property subject to taxation by the Jackson Parish Police Jury:

|                      | <u>Millage</u> |
|----------------------|----------------|
| General Fund Tax     | 4.870          |
| Road & Bridges       | 5.230          |
| Road Asphalt/Paving  | 4.550          |
| Recreation District  | 5.230          |
| Library & Bookmobile | 7.490          |
| Health Unit          | .800           |

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the proper administrative officials of the Parish of Jackson, State of Louisiana, be and they are hereby empowered, authorized, and directed to spread said taxes, as hereinabove set forth, upon the assessment roll of said Parish for the year 2017, and to make the collection of the taxes imposed for and on behalf of the taxing authority, according to law, and that the taxes herein levied shall become a permanent lien and privilege on all property subject to taxation as herein set forth, and collection thereof shall be enforceable in the manner provided by law.

The foregoing resolution was read in full, the roll was called on the adoption thereof, and the resolution was adopted by the following votes:

YEAS: Eddie Langston, John McCarty, Maxie Monroe and Lynn Treadway

NAYS: None ABSTAINING: None

ABSENT: Todd Culpepper, Amy Magee and Regina Rowe

## CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and exact copy of the resolution adopted at the jury meeting held on August 7<sup>th</sup>, 2017, at which a quorum was present and voting.

Jonesboro, Louisiana, this 7<sup>th</sup> day of August, 2017.

<u>/s/ Kenneth O. Pardue</u>
Kenneth O. Pardue, Secretary-Treasurer

**PARISH SEAL:** 

Motion Mr. Treadway seconded Ms. Monroe to authorize the president to sign the contract with the Division of Administration for Community Water Enrichment Fund for the Fiscal Year 2015-16 awards to the Shady Grove Water System and the Punkin Center Hilltop Water System with each receiving \$19,658. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Monroe seconded Mr. Treadway to authorize the probationary secretary-treasurer to be added to the signature card at Jonesboro State Bank for negotiating checks, transferring funds and

authorizing / approving payroll ACH transactions, and to sign documents in accordance with the jury's policies. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Treadway seconded Ms. Monroe to authorize the president to sign the Consent to Assignment of Contract between the Jackson Parish Police Jury and Bryan & Bryan, LLC for the 2017 bid for Cracked Fuel Oil. Motion carried.

Ms. Magee arrived and joined the meeting in session.

Motion Ms. Monroe seconded Mr. McCarty to appoint Shontae Mims to the Jackson Parish Hospital Board representing timber/pulp industry management. The president called for a roll call vote. Mr. Treadway – Nay, Ms. Monroe – Yea, Mr. McCarty – Yea, Ms. Magee – Nay, Mr. Langston – Yea. Absent: Mr. Culpepper and Ms. Rowe.

Motion Mr. McCarty seconded Mr. Treadway to approve all purchase orders:

Dodson Enterprises\$4,750.00GeneralFair's Diesel Service\$2,400.00Solid WasteNorthern Tool\$2,299.00Asphalt

Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Monroe seconded Ms. Magee to adjourn. Motion carried.