The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in special session Monday, July 24, 2017, at 5:30 PM in the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Todd Culpepper, Eddie Langston, Amy Magee, John McCarty, Regina Rowe and Lynn Treadway. Absent: Maxie Monroe. Also present: Darrell Avery, Assistant District Attorney.

The meeting was called to order by the president, Mr. Langston. Mr. Treadway gave the invocation and Ms. Rowe led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance. There were no public comments.

Ms. Rowe gave the report of the July 7<sup>th</sup> and July 14<sup>th</sup> Personnel Committee meetings.

"Personnel Committee July 7, 2017

The Personnel Committee met Friday, July 7, 2017, at 5:00 PM in the Police Jury Meeting Room, Jackson Parish Courthouse, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Amy Magee, Maxie Monroe and Regina Rowe. Also present: Todd Culpepper, John McCarty and Lynn Treadway.

The meeting was called to order by the chair, Ms. Rowe. Ms. Monroe gave the invocation and Ms. Magee led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance. There were no public comments.

Motion Ms. Magee seconded Ms. Monroe to go into executive session to conduct interviews for applicants for the secretary-treasurer's position. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee seconded Ms. Monroe to return to open session with no action taken. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Monroe seconded Ms. Magee to adjourn. Motion carried."

"Personnel Committee July 14, 2017

The Personnel Committee met Friday, July 14, 2017, at 4:30 PM in the Police Jury Meeting Room of the Jackson Parish Courthouse, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Amy Magee, Maxie Monroe and Regina Rowe. Also present: Todd Culpepper, John McCarty and Lynn Treadway.

The meeting was called to order by the chair, Ms. Rowe. Ms. Monroe gave the invocation and Ms. Magee led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance. There were no public comments.

Motion Ms. Magee seconded Ms. Monroe to go into executive session to conduct interviews with applicants for the secretary-treasurer's positon. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee seconded Ms. Monroe to adjourn. Motion carried."

Motion Ms. Magee seconded Mr. Treadway to approve the minutes of the July 7<sup>th</sup> and July 14<sup>th</sup> Personnel Committee minutes. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded Mr. Treadway to set the negotiable salary for the secretary-treasurer to be appointed to be from \$50,000 to \$80,000 based on qualifications and experience. Motion carried with Mr. Culpepper voting nay.

Ms. Rowe stated that the Personnel Committee's recommendation was to appoint Gina Thomas as secretary-treasurer.

Ms. Rowe nominated Gina Thomas.

Mr. Culpepper nominated Stephen Walker.

The president called for a roll call vote on the nominations for secretary-treasurer.

Mr. Treadway voted for Ms. Thomas

Ms. Rowe voted for Ms. Thomas

Ms. Monroe – Absent

Mr. McCarty voted for Ms. Thomas

Ms. Magee voted for Ms. Thomas

Mr. Langston voted for Mr. Walker

Mr. Culpepper voted for Mr. Walker

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded Ms. Magee to appoint Gina Thomas as the probationary secretary-treasurer with compensation to be negotiated. Motion carried.

The following amendment to the agenda was offered: Appointment of Dr. Rebecca Crouch to a full term on the Jackson Parish Hospital Board effective August 1, 2017 in accordance with requirements of Act 171. There were no public comments on the amendment.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Mr. Treadway to amend the agenda to include the appointment of Dr. Rebecca Crouch to a full term on the Jackson Parish Hospital Board effective August 1, 2017. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Mr. Treadway to appoint Dr. Rebecca Crouch to a full term on the Jackson Parish Hospital Board effective August 1, 2017. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded Mr. Culpepper to adjourn. Motion carried.