The Jackson Parish Police Jury met Monday, July 17, 2017, at 5:30 PM, in the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana. Members present: Todd Culpepper, Eddie Langston, Amy Magee, John McCarty, Maxie Monroe, Regina Rowe and Lynn Treadway. Also present: Darrell Avery, Assistant District Attorney.

The meeting was called to order by the president, Mr. Langston. Mr. Treadway gave the invocation and Ms. Monroe led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The president called for public comments. Mr. Freddie Tolar, currently a member of the hospital board expressed concern over the appointment of attorney Chris Bowman to the hospital board. He stated that Mr. Bowman had represented a former employee that had been charged with theft from the hospital.

The president opened the floor for nominations for the appointment of an attorney that complied with the mandatory requirements of the board members as introduced for legislation by Senator Fannin.

Mr. Culpepper nominated attorney Chris Bowman.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Monroe to appoint Chris Bowman to a full term on the Jackson Parish Hospital Board effective August 1, 2017 in accordance with Act 171 of the 2017 Regular Legislative Session. Motion carried.

Mr. Langston nominated Angela Curtis, Loan Officer of Barksdale Federal Credit Union to fill the required appointment of a bank owner or officer of a local bank. Ms. Magee asked the president if a Credit Union qualified as a bank. Mr. Langston stated that he had contacted Mr. Fannin, and was assured by the senator that the credit union met the requirements of the legislation.

Motion Mr. Treadway seconded Mr. Culpepper to appoint Angela Curtis to the Jackson Parish Hospital Board to a full term effective August 1, 2017 in accordance with Act 171. Motion carried.

Mr. Culpepper nominated Dr. Rebecca Crouch as the required practitioner for the hospital board. Ms. Rowe nominated Heather Negrotto as the practitioner.

Voting for Dr. Rebecca Crouch were Mr. Treadway and Mr. Culpepper. Voting for Ms. Heather Negrotto were Ms. Rowe, Ms. Monroe, Ms. Magee. Abstaining was Mr. McCarty.

Ms. Negrotto will assume membership effective August 1, 2017 for a full term on the hospital board as the required practitioner working at the Jackson Parish Hospital.

The president called for nominations for a member of management representing the pulp wood industries.

Mr. Treadway nominated Todd Pyles as the managerial member of the board. He stated that Mr. Pyles had been recommended by the West Rock Plant Manager for the vacancy.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Monroe to table the appointment of the pulp wood industry member. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Mr. McCarty to remove the appointment of the pulp wood industry from the table and consider nominations. Motion carried.

Mr. Treadway nominated Todd Pyles. Ms. Magee nominated Cedric Garner.

Voting for Mr. Pyles: Mr. Treadway

Voting for Mr. Garner: Mr. Culpepper, Mr. Langston, Ms. Magee, Mr. McCarty and Ms. Monroe Abstaining: Ms. Rowe

Mr. Garner will assume the appointment representing management of a pulp wood industry for a full term effective August 1, 2017.

Motion Mr. Treadway seconded Mr. Culpepper to refer the No Wake Zone Ordinance for all of Caney Creek Reservoir back to the Jackson Parish Watershed Board. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded My Magee to approve the full time employment of Leroy Bryant in the road department effective July 21, 2017. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded Ms. Monroe to approve the full time employment of Kent Gaines in the road department effective August 3, 2017. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. McCarty seconded Ms. Monroe to approve the full time employment of Rawlie Mills in the road department effective August 3, 2017. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded Mr. Treadway to issue a quietus on the 2016 tax roll. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Monroe seconded Mr. McCarty to approve the following purchase orders:Contech Solutions\$10,000.00Asphalt fundWinn Rock\$30,000.00Road fundMotion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Mr. Rowe to adjourn. Motion carried.