The Jackson Parish Police Jury met in regular session Monday, February 13, 2017, at 5:30 P.M., in the Dr. Charles H. Garrett Community Center, 182 Industrial Drive, Jonesboro, Louisiana 71251. Members present: Todd Culpepper, Eddie Langston, Amy Magee, John McCarty, Maxie Monroe, Regina Rowe and Lynn Treadway. Also present: Darrell Avery, Assistant District Attorney.

The meeting was called to order by the president, Mr. Langston. The invocation was given by Ms. Monroe and Ms. Rowe led the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

The president recognized Mr. Doyle Sandifer. He discussed progress on having the encroachment bridge on Caney Lake removed by the Watershed Board.

The president recognized Ms. Cynthia Rayner. She informed the jury that the gas line on Rainer Road had been relocated and urged the jurors to keep Rainer Road in the parish road system.

There were no public comments.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded McCarty to approve the minutes of the January 9, 2017 regular meeting, January 18, 2017 special meeting, the January 30, 2017 special meeting, the January financial report and the payment of all bills. Motion carried.

Paul Riley presented the Engineer's Report.

Motion Ms. Magee seconded Mr. Culpepper to accept the report of the engineer.

Jody Stuckey presented the Road Superintendent's Report.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Magee to accept the emergency / off schedule report for January. Motion carried.

Robin Sessions presented the Solid Waste Superintendent's Report.

Motion Mr. Treadway seconded Ms. Rowe to accept monthly report. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Rowe seconded Ms. Magee to authorize the president to sign the Letter of Assurances for the Uniform Relocation Assistance & Real Property Act to the Louisiana Department of Transportation & Development. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Monroe to appoint Tom Goss to fill the vacancy as District A Constable, Jackson Parish, created by the resignation of Mark Futrell. Motion carried.

Motion Ms. Magee seconded Mr. McCarty the following election call:

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, Mr. Mark Futrell, the Constable, District A, Jackson Parish, resigned effective February 1, 2017, and as a result the office of Constable, District A has become vacant under the provisions of R.S. 18:581;

WHEREAS, more than one year remained of the unexpired of Mr. Mark Futrell at the time of his resignation; and

WHEREAS, as its regular meeting held on February 13, 2017, the Jackson Parish Police Jury appointed a successor to serve in the position of Constable, District A, until such time as a successor to Mr. Mark Futrell could be elected:

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED in accordance with the provisions of Louisiana Revised Statutes 18:602 that an election be and the same is hereby called to elect a successor to serve the remainder of the unexpired term on Mr. Mark Futrell, said primary election to be held on October 14, 2017, and the general election, if necessary, to be held on November 18, 2017.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the qualifying period for the October 14, 2017 election be and the same is hereby fixed for July 12, 2017, through July 14, 2017 to be held at the Jackson Parish Clerk of Court's Office.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the voting at that special election will be held at the following polling places situated within Jackson Parish, Louisiana, which polls will open at 6:00 o'clock A.M. and close at 8:00 P.M. in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 18:541, to wit:

PRECINCTS	PRECINCT LOCATION
01	Quitman High School
02	Quitman High School
03	Quitman High School
04	Clay Fire Station
05	Ward Two Fire Station
13	McDonald Recreation Center

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the notice of the calling of the special election be published one in the *Jackson Independent* in accordance with the provisions of R. S. 18:602 E (2) (b).

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that notice of the calling of this special election be transmitted to the Louisiana Secretary of State's Office, the Louisiana Commissioner of Elections, the Jackson Parish Clerk of Court and the Jackson Parish Registrar of Voters within twenty-four hours after its passage.

Vote of the resolution was:

YEAS:	Mr. Culpepper, Mr. Langston, Ms. Magee, Mr. McCarty, Ms. Monroe, Ms. Rowe
	and Mr. Treadway
NAYS:	None
ABSENT:	None
ABSTAIN:	None

And the resolution was declared adopted this the 13th day of February, 2017.

CERTIFICATION

I, Kenneth O. Pardue, Secretary-Treasurer of the Jackson Parish Police Jury do hereby swear that the above resolution is a true and correct excerpt of the official minutes of the Jackson Parish Police Jury as adopted in regular session Monday, February 13, 2017, in open session in Jonesboro, Louisiana.

/s/ Kenneth O. Pardue Kenneth O. Pardue Secretary-Treasurer

PARISH SEAL:

Motion Mr. Treadway seconded Ms. Rowe to reappoint Andy Brown, Jackson Parish Sheriff to a four year term on the Jackson Parish Communication District commencing April 1, 2017. Motion carried.

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Mr. McCarty to approve the following purchase orders:

Northern Tools	\$414.00	Road
Too Dex Service	\$1,200.00	Road
Fair's Diesel	\$600.00	Solid Waste
Hydra-Tech Systems	\$1,400.00	Solid waste
Motion carried.		

Motion Mr. Culpepper seconded Ms. Monroe to adjourn. Motion carried.